domingo, 6 de abril de 2014

Eureka - Shackleton’s Voyage [2009]

"Shackleton's Voyage" is a spectacular release in every respect and sees Hamburg Germany's multi-instrumentalist Frank Bossert return to his musical roots. Influenced strongly again by rock acts such as Yes and Rush, Bossert's Eureka project tells the true story of Sir Ernest Shackleton's sensational Antarctica expedition during the years 1914 through 1916.

Musically Shackleton's Voyage operates at the interface of prog rock, symphonic, Celtic and mainly in terms of his guitar style. (Which weighs heavily on Mike Oldfield influences) Featured guests on the album include Billy Sherwood formerly of 'Yes' as well as Yogi Lang of 'RPWL'(who also mixed and mastered the album) The songs on the concept album are connected by narration from British actor Ian Dickinson and the brilliant cover art was taken form actual photographs from the expedition.

01. The Last Adventure (0:50)
02. Departure (feat. Troy Donockley) (3:10)
03. The Challenge (feat. Billy Sherwood) (3:32)
04. Grytviken Whaling Station (3:02)
05. Heading South (feat. Yogi Lang) (3:58)
06. Icebound (5.06)
07. Plenty Of Time (2.58)
08. The Turning Point (0:49)
09. Going Home (feat. Billy Sherwood) (5:10)
10. Into The Lifeboats (4:39)
11. Elephant Island (2:39)
12. Will You Ever Return? (feat. Kalema) (3:09)
13. In Search Of Relief (6:57)
14. The Rescue (3.27)
15. We Had Seen God! (1:46)


Billy Sherwood - vocals
Kalema - vocals
Frank Bossert - guitars, bass, drums, keyboards, mandolin
Troy Donockley - uilleann pipes, low whistle
Yogi Lang - Moog, keyboards
Ian Dickinson - narrative voice

2 comentarios: