miércoles, 6 de agosto de 2014

Jeremy Baum-The Eel

Jeremy Baum plays the Hammond Organ and piano and leads his own band, which is rooted in the blues and funky soul-jazz sounds of the late 60s (think Booker T and the MG’s, the Meters, Jimmy Smith!) His style is also informed by the current masters of the groove from the jam-band scene (Medeski, Martin & Wood, Soulive, Derek Trucks Band, Marco Benevento.)

While still in college, Jeremy joined Murali Coryell's band, and soon began leading his own organ trio. In 2002 Jeremy released his first album, Lost River Jams, on Flying Yak Records. JB’s Band was also featured on Boogaloo to McDuff, a tribute to Jack McDuff, available on Scufflin’ Records. Jeremy has been leading his band at festivals and clubs in the New York and New England region ever since.

Jeremy has been a successful sideman, working with Shemekia Copeland (6 years in her band), Levon Helm, soul-jazz legend Melvin Sparks, Sue Foley, Joe Louis Walker, Debbie Davies, Chris O’Leary, John Hammond Jr., and many more. He has played in nearly every state in the USA, in over 25 countries in North America, Europe and Asia, at countless music festivals, at Carnegie Hall, and many television appearances including Late Night with David Letterman. The man has paid some dues!

Back in the studio for his sophomore release, The Eel, on Flying Yak Records, Jeremy Baum knocks it out of the park with 10 Hammond organ and piano driven arrangements. It's an album of funky, bluesy new compositions as well as original arrangements of songs by Beck, Prince, James Brown and more. Recorded by the amazing Dave Gross at Fat Rabbit Studios, this album features many of the best and brightest musicians from Jeremy's twin musical homes of New York City and the Hudson Valley/Woodstock NY area. Special guests include, among others, Jay Collins, Eric Kalb, Scott Sharrard, guitar prodigy Myles Mancuso, Chris Vitarello, and VizzTone artists Dennis Gruenling, Michael Bram, and Chris O’Leary.

01. The New Pollution (4:16)
02. Funky Monkey (4:39)
03. Three More Bottles (5:31)
04. Charlie Baum (5:00)
05. Dance With Me (3:21)
06. Borracho (3:19)
07. Pacific Drive (5:44)
08. Ain't It Funky Now (5:47)
09. Purple Rain (7:09)
10. The Eel (6:09)

3 comentarios: