viernes, 16 de enero de 2015

Melissa Laveaux - Camphor and Copper

Mélissa Michelle Marjolec Laveaux (born 9 January 1985) is a Canadian singer-songwriter and guitarist of Haitian descent signed to No Format!. Her music has been described as a mix of roots, folk, and blues using her signature percussive finger-style guitar and soulful vocal stylings. In 2006, Laveaux released a first full-length album of her own songs. It was co-produced with percussionist Rob Reid (on tabla and cajón) and Lisa Patterson of Imaginit Music Studios.Laveaux has received critical praise from her peers in such magazines as Colorlines and is a Songs from the Heart recipient from the 2006 Ontario Council of Folk Festivals' conference in the World Music category for penning "Koud'lo".

Mélissa has opened for several artists who have inspired her music: Meshell Ndegeocello, Feist and Lura. She's also performed at jazz and popular music festivals around the globe. Although most of her performances have been in France, she regularly performs in Japan and Spain. Festivals that have featured Laveaux include the Montreal International Jazz Festival (2007, 2009 and 2010), Cully Jazz, Donostia Jazzaldia, Festival du Bout du Monde (2008), Les Francofolies de La Rochelle (2009), Sakifo Musik Festival in La Réunion Island and le Printemps de Bourges. She has been a featured guest on CBC Radio's local programs Ottawa Morning and All in a Day and its national radio broadcasts Bandwidth, Canada Live, and Go!.

01 - Scissors
02 - My Boat
03 - Chère Trahison
04 - Ulysses
05 - Interlude Haïti
06 - Koudlo
07 - Dodo Titit
08 - Needle In The Hay
09 - Interlude Voyeur
10 - Games Of Unrest
11 - Akeelah'S Heel
12 - I Want To Be Evil
13 - Les Cendres (bonus tracks)
14 - First Class (bonus tracks)

3 comentarios: