domingo, 24 de marzo de 2013

Catrin Finch - Crossing The Stone (UK 2003)

Although the Welsh harpist Catrin Finch is only 23 years old, she has already been able to get the status of a virtuoso musician worldwide. Catrin is the first female harpist to whom The Prince of Wales granted the prestigious, traditional position of The Royal Harpist in 2000, another Welsh celebrity Karl Jenkins asked her to become involved in making the previous Adiemus album, Adiemus IV - The Eternal Knot. In addition, HRH The Prince of Wales commissioned even more music from Karl, and the result was a double harp concerto based on a Welsh folk tune "Over The Stone". After the work was premiered in Wales in 2002, Karl Jenkins became a producer of her next album, composed some more music for it, and the album Crossing The Stone (Sony Classical (UK) SK87320, 2003) was born.

Stylistically the album is a rainbow of various musical styles, and in addition to the original compositions of Karl himself, he has also arranged some very interesting pieces for the album. Most of the double harp concerto movements have been included, as well as very fine and, more or less, modernised versions of some famous classical tunes. Catrin is accompanied by the Prague Philharmonic Orchestra, with Karl Jenkins as a conductor, but there are also pieces of solo harp included.

1. Mountain Dance
2. Harpers Bizarre
3. James
4. Crossing The Stone (Tros Y Garreg)
5. Prelude From Partita No. 3
6. Third Movement From Electric Counterpoint
7. Eternal Dream
8. The Arrival Of The Queen Of Sheba From Solomon
9. Cafe Vamp Latino
10. Spain
11. Buenos Aires Hora Cero
12. Clair De Lune
13. Prelude In C/Ave Maria
14. Thingamujig
15. Suo Gan
16. Palladio (1st Movement)

Crossing The Stone

1 comentario: